Percussion Team set for 2017


John Cypert


Eric Brown

Spirit of Atlanta has announced that John Cypert will return to lead the percussion education team for Spirit of Atlanta as the corps heads into the 2017 season.  Many returning staff members will be joining Cypert, including several taking on new roles for the corps.  Eric Brown will serve at the Percussion Caption Head this season, and Tonya Mashburn will become Co-Caption Head.  Phillip Morgan returns from the 2016 staff and advances to Front Ensemble Coordinator, while Lance Kindl will join the team as the Battery Coordinator, having taught with Spirit in 2015.  Jami’ Fennell will be a part of the staff this season in the role of Percussion Consultant, having worked with Spirit from 2003-2010, and the Cavaliers from 2011-2013.  Rounding out this season’s team will be percussion instructors Daniel Allen, Eddie Capps, Kellen Matthews, Austin Rideout, and Ian Bracy, all of whom return from the 2016 lineup.  New for the 2017 season are Matt Groves, Brandon Dodge, Lindsey Haynes, Andrew Matteson, Conner McBee, Joshua Montgomery, Tyler Norman, Taylor Ransom, Alex Vaughn, Jerry Charvat, and percussion intern Jimmy Nguyen.  The percussion staff also honors the memory of Will Campbell, long-time Spirit instructor who recently passed away at the age of 34.

Spirit of Atlanta Director Chris Moore said of the staff, “we are very happy to have the opportunity to work with last season’s talented percussion leader and writer,” adding “establishing more engaged roles for some of those staff will enable them to bring their talents to the table in exciting new ways. In addition to the strong foundation they have set for our members, having new and former instructors with strong teaching fundamentals and expertise can bring the program to the next level.”

You can read all of the staff listings and check out their bios online.